Dreaming of Imaginary Dragon Fish

illustration by Lori Ono

Dream Fish

I did this illustration a while ago, and then decided to scan it and try coloring and airbrushing with Photoshop. Mostly, I’m happy with how it turned out. I think I might want to change the color scheme. Not sure. The colors are inspired by a trip to Thailand. I love the purples, pinks and blues I see there. I’m trying to get an underwater look but vary between thinking it looks washed out or just floating in space. Maybe some more bubbles in the foreground.

What I really love is this character. I want to write stories about her. I think of her like some kind of imaginary dragon fish. I can imagine here day, but haven’t come up with a name yet. She started as a doodle for a “who me?” facial expression and went from there.

What comes first for you? Color palette? Facial expression? Character?

Happy Creating!

This entry was posted in creativity, design, digital content creation, drawing, mixed media and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreaming of Imaginary Dragon Fish

  1. writecrites says:

    What comes first for me: colors and shapes. This one’s lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

