Still Using Film

I had a big surprise while scanning film I took in London. I used a 35 mm film called Solaris 400 and was really surprised by the color.

The film camera I used is a Petri 1.9 Super Color Corrected 35 mm rangefinder. I bought it from a junk box at an antique market in Yokohama for ¥3000. I had planned to just use it for a decoration, but on a whim, I tried a roll of film and it worked fine! I decided it would be great camera to use Lomo style.

Generally, I shoot black and white film with this camera. I find color often doesn’t have a fun, retro feel. The Solaris 400 definitely has the retro vibe. The image hasn’t been digitally manipulated yet. I probably will change it up for fun some day.

I’m still going through the film and I’m surprised by the yellow cast. I remember the weather being more grey than sallow. I don’t mind the color cast. It gives the image a Euro-sepia filter effect.

This entry was posted in camera gear, Petri 1.9 CC Super, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still Using Film

  1. Reblogged this on filmcamera999 and commented:
    ..snap! ive got 2 of these super cameras! and yes..theyre very cheap to buy..but return great pics!

    Like

  2. Nice shot, keep the film up.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Pinholes and Ice Monsters | The Spendy Pencil

Leave a Reply

