The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy

The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy (Burford Family Mysteries, #1)The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy by James Anderson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was lucky enough to spend a week in London at the end of October. Last time in London, I read a Regency romance while having high tea at Fortnum and Mason. I decided to continue the tradition of reading a book set in England while I was there.

I went to the Waterstone’s at Trafalgar Square and fell in love with this book cover and the title. The Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy, what a perfect title! The book is set in England just before the start of WWII, at an old English manor. Oooh, love! And an egg cosy! That just seems quintessentially British to me. More love! Some cover copy hints at shades of Agatha Christie. SO… we have a classic English manor mystery, complete with stolen jewels, international intrigue and an English Inspector that reminds me of Columbo. Hmm… Columbo. That doesn’t seem as promising. I really disliked that show. But surely an egg cosy will make up for it.

I found the first thirty pages didn’t really draw me in, but when the book hit it’s stride, I quite enjoyed it.

I finished reading the book on the airplane going home when the murderer was revealed and I actually burst out with, “What?” The plot is quite intricate and it was fun to see it sorted out. I think that’s why I was jarred with the identity of the murderer. It seemed a bit contrived when everything else fit so well.

Now, having said that, I would read another book if Jane or Geraldine were in them. I think the female characters were well done. I wasn’t thrilled with the Inspector, but then again, I really dislike Columbo so that kind of character device sets my teeth on edge.

I do want an egg cosy now. I’m off to search for a pattern on the internet.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

