Kyoto Mission: Find This Location

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I saw this travel poster for Kyoto in the Ginza subway station.

20130217-142854.jpg

We loved the scene and promised ourselves that someday we’d go to Kyoto and take our own picture of the location. I snapped a quick pic on my phone as a reference for the someday trip.

Cue last Friday when I had an event in Osaka. My photos were shown at the MINI Paceman product release launch in Tokyo and Osaka. Both were great nights and I’ll be posting about them later.

On Saturday we had the day to ourselves and after a great lunch in Osaka we deliberated on how to spend the rest of the day, completely forgetting about the promise to recreate the Kyoto picture. Over coffee, somehow my husband remembered. The only problem is that the picture’s text is unreadable. Still, we were determined to uncover this, sort of, mysterious location. Armed with a plan, we caught the Keihan train for Shijo/Gion. Gion is a historical district of Kyoto and maybe the most quintessential place illustrating western expectations of Japan.

My husband also had the great idea of showing the picture and asking the railway employee at the gate how to get to this location. We found out that the place is called Yasaka Pagoda (八坂の塔), got a walking map and great instructions. We followed the instructions, stopping at tea shops, tsukemono shops and anything of interest along the way.

When we finally came within sight of the pagoda and then it was just a matter of wandering along the streets lined with historical architecture, cute shops and more cafes than you can shake a stick at.

And here is our version, with Kitijiro Nekowski as my model.

20130217-150550.jpg

This entry was posted in Photography, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kyoto Mission: Find This Location

  1. meagan8477 says:

    I love this! Well done!

    Going to Kyoto in April so I’ll be sure to look out for Yasaka Pagoda.

    Like

    • Lori Ono says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read my post and for the feedback. What I really liked about the mission was that it gave a structure to our wandering around. After we got to Yasaka Pagoda, took the photos and admired the structure, I felt really satisfied. It didn’t even bother me that we didn’t go on to Kiyomizu Temple. That is another must see if you haven’t been yet.

      April should be a good time for cherry blossoms! Lucky you!

      Like

  2. Troo says:

    That was one seriously eagle-eyed railway employee! Nicely found 🙂

    Like

    • Lori Ono says:

      Thanks for reading my post and taking the time to comment. Looks like you’ve been to Japan, too! So you know train employees in Japan are usually really nice and very helpful.

      It didn’t hurt that the pagoda in the background is a lot more famous than we realized. 😉

      Like

      • Troo says:

        Indeed! I’ve had several chats with exceedingly helpful JR employees, but even smaller lines’ staff have been really friendly.

        I have to say I’d initially not recognised the pagoda, and was busy squinting at the picture for ages.

        Like

  3. Pingback: European Vacation: Missions Yarnpossible; Photoism; & Inspiration | The Spendy Pencil

Leave a Reply

