A Flour Free White Sugar-Free Experiment: PB Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last week I found a recipe on my Facebook feed for flour-free white sugar-free Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Cookies. Today I had some free time so I thought I’d try it out. The thing that fascinates me about this recipe is that you use chickpeas instead of flour, eggs or butter. You get a significant amount of oil from the peanut butter and you use honey instead of white sugar.

I think the original recipe comes from Texan Erin’s website and you can check it out here. Her website has a lot of good recipes and good photos, too. I really recommend checking out her recipe. I’d rather see her get the link love so if you are curious, please give her a click. I don’t want to infringe on her hard work.

So my review of the recipe:

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie: sugar free, gluten free and a cup of tea

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie: sugar free, gluten free

 

Making It Up:

I had about 20 extra chickpeas than the recipe called for. I have no use for 20 solitary chickpeas so I increased the recipe a bit. I know one can put chickpeas in salad but I don’t like that.

The chickpeas were a bit hard to get completely smooth. If I make this again, I will blend the chickpeas and honey first instead of adding all the ingredients at first. I have a Braun immersion blender and I can get perfectly smooth hummus but this recipe is a bit “dryer” so it was harder on my machine.

Baking:

I hate my little oven. It is one of those smallish microwave/regular oven deals and it has very uneven heat. The corner cookies were not cooked. Not a problem with the recipe, just something to think about. My oven also doesn’t have 175C so I improvised. It turns out that a solid bake of 180 C for 10-11 minutes works better. It might be better to bake for longer.

The cookies end up being very doughy. The chocolate was nicely baked so that was good. I didn’t end up feeling like it never cooked at all.

TIP: I think it is important to press the middle down so the cookie centre cooks. This might not be important if you have a decent oven, but if you dont, mush it.

Yield: The recipe said about 14, but I got 17. Thank you extra chickpeas.

Taste:

Does it taste chickpea-y? Not so much. I suspect this recipe would not make a decent plain chocolate chip cookie. The peanut butter camouflages the chickpea taste pretty effectively. Unlike a lot of gluten free I’ve tried (not a lot, granted) it wasn’t dry as a bone, but quite moist.

I prefer a bit dryer cookie, but they were still warm when I ate a couple.

Final:

I think it is a good recipe. For a “healthy” cookie and one that is gluten free, I rate it quite highly. The ingredients are easy to buy, the recipe isn’t too hard to make and it tastes pretty good.

This entry was posted in baking, health, inspiration, personal growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

