Unexpected Contrasts

I’m bringing Ikamura with me on my flight to Canada because he makes a surprisingly good neck pillow. I took a photo of him at Saza Coffee in Shinagawa Station. I was really surprised at the lighting effect. It’s like a inverted fishbowl or aquarium.

20140509-161057.jpg

Unexpected lighting can make interesting photos. It’s worth knowing how light will transpose onto digital or film images. This photo is with my iPhone and unedited. The auto white balance set for the cafe giving an odd color cast to the hall outside.

If you can change the white balance on your camera, it is worth playing with the white balance settings. One of my favorite tricks is to use tungsten white balance for color night shots. Skies turn a nice velvety blue-black.

This entry was posted in creativity, Photography, plushies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

