Yarn Addiction Thursday: I-cord Scarf Frenzy

Adapted from a La Droguerie pattern

Adapted from a La Droguerie pattern

On a visit to La Droguerie in Shibuya Seibu, I saw an interesting scarf made of i-cord, pompoms and flowers made of felt cut-outs. The title on the pattern is “l’écharpe” which I think just means scarf. Not so helpful as a title perhaps. To make the scarf you use an i-cord knitting mill. The one I bought at La Droguerie came in a plain brown box, so while I can’t be sure about the brand, it looks like the Prym Knitting Mill.

I couldn’t find enough felt flower cut outs to match the wool colors I chose so I decided to change the pattern from flowers to dots, polka-dots and spheres.

I found little felted balls of wool at Okadaya and bought some to give more color variety and because they were cheaper than the ones I got at La Droguerie. I also bought a felt ball maker so that I could make a variety of sizes of felt balls for the ends of the strings. Not surprisingly, making felt spheres got old really fast. I suppose the method is less painful that needle felting (ha ha, there’s some kind of pun in there) but work is work and time is time.When I finally had all my pieces made, I safety pinned it together and started sewing. I sewed each pompom on individually. It might have taken less work to run the thread through the strings, but I felt that would limit the amount of stretch inherent in the yarn. Again, after a while, it became tedious. It helped that I was able to take it in the car and work on it during road-trips.

Finishing touches on the ends of the strings. Felt discs were glued on to two discs sandwiching the string end and sewn shut.

Finishing touches on the ends of the strings. Felt discs were glued on to two discs sandwiching the string end and sewn shut.

I always think that adding embellishments will be the fun part. And when I get to that stage and I’m just impatient for it to be done. I did enjoy doing to color selection and organization for the felt circles and spheres for the string ends. I think it gets stressful because at this stage, even tiny mistakes affects how the work looks. I’m not great with a needle and thread so I had to redo this part often to get even stitches.

But then, voila! Finally, it is done.

Materials:
Tools:
i-cord knitting mill
felt-ball maker (Okadaya)
fabric glue
Wool
Sunaturelle
felting wool 100% Merino
Notions
Velvet pompoms (from La Droguerie)
wool pompoms
thread and needle
felt circle cut outs

This entry was posted in creativity, Uncategorized, Yarn Addiction Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

