A Cup Cosy for All Seasons. Sock Monkey vs. Hello Kitty

20140624-210703-76023558.jpg
Maybe I’m excessively delicate, but I don’t like to hold on to a cup that is burning hot or a cup that is icy cold. I feel guilty when I use the paper cup holders, sleeves, cosies, whatever you want to call them. But I lose stuff easily. The more boring it is, the easier I seem to lose it. Cute and quirky sticks with me a lot better. And I found a solution for my cup woes.

I found this pattern during a visit to Gina Brown’s during Mission Yarnpossible: Calgary. I was looking for something else completely but couldn’t resist this pattern book, Monkey Around by Patons. You can get the cup cozy pattern for free at Paton’s site Yarnspiration.com
but the book has lots of fun patterns.

The sock monkey cup cosy is really easy to make. I finished the first one in a day, including time to run out and buy notions. I din’t enjoy making the ears. They were fast, but… meh for the ears. I also used different yarn than listed in the pattern so this can be a great stash busting pattern. My mom gave me 5 balls of Sirdar Denim tweed DK so I bought some yarn at Gina Brown’s to complement and complete the pattern. I have enough yarn to make a sock monkey cup holder army.

A friend has her birthday coming up and she loved my sock monkey cozy. Since she is a Hello Kitty fan, I adapted the pattern and added a needle felt name tag.
20140624-205821-75501129.jpg

If anyone is interested in the pattern I made for the Hello Kitty face, let me know and I’ll post it.

Hope you enjoy the cup cozies and let me know what you think.

20140624-213146-77506408.jpg

This entry was posted in craft, crochet, design, felting, Uncategorized, Yarn Addiction Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

