A Photo Clam Tripod and Ball Head for Me!

CP+2015, a photography trade show at Pacifico Yokohama , ended today. I was supposed to meet up with a group of people but due to a mix-up I ended up taking in the show on my own. This ended up being a good thing because I was able to take my time.

20150216-005056-3056934.jpgBest part of the show for me? I got a Photo Clam tripod (PTC2440P), ball head (PRO-42NS) and a quick release plate! I’ve been looking for a tripod for a long time. I’ve had the same Manfrotto tripod which I bought second hand in 2001. It’s heavy and has clips that are almost impossible to open and winter? Forget about it. Not to mention that someone dropped my tripod and the ball head is not what it used to be. I don’t even want to talk about the baaaaad habits I’ve formed due to not using a quick release plate. I know I’m lucky to not have experienced a disaster.

I’d never heard of Photo Clam which is based in Korea. I hadn’t seen them in any stores, but the reason for shows like CP+ is to explore something new. I’d been wanting a new tripod system for ages but I never made the jump because that I couldn’t afford a system I liked. And frankly, it’s overwhelming and nerve-wracking. It’s hard to strike a balance between good quality, appropriate weight and price.  I’d talked to different camera shops and done lots of reading, but I never felt comfortable enough to go through with the purchase given the price points involved.

Yeonsu Jeong was a joy to talk to. We talked about Seoul and bonded over our love of hotok (I mentioned a place in Myeong-dong but I meant Insadong) and she gave me great advice about selecting gear to suit my current kits. Because I was buying the floor model, I got a discount. I hadn’t planned on buying anything so I ended up running like a demon to find my nearest bank and make it back in time before the show ended and everything got packed up. I made it back with ten minutes to spare. I can MOVE when I’m motivated.

I did some reading about their products after I purchased my tripod (so opposite my usual MO that I still can’t believe it) and I’m feeling even better by the good reviews.  llford films probably loved my old tripod. I use a lot of their 3200 BW film in my Hasselblad and my Fuji GSWII because I hate using the old Manfrotto tripod. I could hand-hold my camera in most situations with that film. The 3200 is a great film but  it doesn’t allow me to take advantage of the great glass. That all changes! I’m looking forward to using the tripod and enjoying the delights of the finer grained lower ISO films.

I’ve got a few more things I want to write about regarding CP+2015 and will definitely write another post once I have a go with the tripod.

This entry was posted in camera gear, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Photo Clam Tripod and Ball Head for Me!

  1. Pingback: Pinholes and Ice Monsters | The Spendy Pencil

Leave a Reply

