Wonder Drawer

Wonder Drawer

Hello carefully curated space
My museum of memories.
When everything else is chaos and overflowing.
You have been my constant calm
Though you changed shape as I moved from place to place.

You used to be a jar
My expression of assemblage
From the bits and bobs of daily toil.
But it made me vulnerable
When others saw what I considered worthy of my drawer.

Once you were a box, clever
My trove of small treasure
Like the lonely earring, whose mate got lost in the somewhen.
You still keep it safe
Just in case the lost is not gone forever.

At times you were a leather casing
My mobile raven’s nest of Mnemosyne.
Sorting the memories I wanted to keep
And exactly how
I wanted to remember things.

You were always my haven
My silent partner of reflection
The place I could count on
To have and to hold
When nothing else felt fair or even.

Now you are a drawer at last,
My stash of souvenirs.
From times I went away
And for the times
I need to remind myself I went and came back.

This entry was posted in inspiration, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wonder Drawer

  1. Nothing is ever really organised in my space. Good poem.

    Like

  2. Noirfifre says:

    Your drawer sound like the fountain of youth ;).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lori Ono says:

    @Noirfifre, That’s an interesting idea. I hadn’t thought about that before, but I guess our memories is what keeps us young.

    Like

  4. I really love this. My drawer holds the same value for me, and I can really relate to the second last part. Also, this is very well-written! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

