Talking About Art

In the middle of writing a blog post reflecting on everything going on this autumn, I end up writing about art and and the way we talk about it. It’s still a work in progress but I thought I would throw out some questions before I finish it.

Ikamura Gessozaburo wants to talk about art.

Ikamura Gessozaburo wants to talk about art.

I know how I feel about art and talking about it, but what about you good people?

  1. How do you feel about art?
  2. Do you feel comfortable about talking about it?
  3. Do you have any notions about what you can or can’t say about it?
  4. Do you think there are requirements or that there should be?
  5. Do you have any stereotypes or specific images about art discourse?
  6. What kind of experiences have you had?

I’m interested in your opinions. Please share them. Don’t worry about being right or wrong. Just be honest. I look forward to hearing from you.

This entry was posted in art, plushies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Talking About Art

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    Those are interesting questions you’ve asked in your post. My answer to all the questions is that the best way to understand art is to try creating some. Too often I meet people who don’t understand the complex processes or expressive forms available. Art is two dimensional, three dimensional, audovisual, walking, moving, living and breathing. We eat art at patisseries, too. Sometimes, I’ll see art I do not appreciate. My way of expressing my feelings about it is to create a version of it to feel what the artist might have experienced. Best wishes.

    Like

    • Lori Ono says:

      Sorry to take so long to reply. I’ve been traveling.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on the post. I think your idea is very interesting. It seems like you are suggesting that engaging in the process of creation helps us verbalize our ideas about art rather than formal art education?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sabiscuit says:

        Hello Lori and welcome back. I meant to agree with you. Formal education is definitely important. I expand on the idea by saying that, we should learn by doing so that our critiques have a basis in experience. I am saying this as a person whose work has been criticised as not matching what art history textbooks say is art. That critique gave me a lot of confidence to continue creating art and experimenting with media. You gave me lots to think about, too. Thank you for your insights. Have a great week.

        Like

      • Lori Ono says:

        I think you shouldn’t worry if your work doesn’t match what art history books say is art. DaDaism definitely didn’t match any current definitions when it emerged. And Basquiat as well, I think.

        I’m glad that those crits didn’t convince you to stop creating.

        I’m always wondering about the balance of education and personal interpretation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sabiscuit says:

        That is very kind of you, thank you. It is an interesting issue, the balance between archival data and new horizons. I think the quest to resolve it keeps us motivated to continue. Best wishes for your creative ventures. Have a great week.

        Like

      • Lori Ono says:

        Interesting you mention balancing archival and new horizons. I bought some old negatives and slides at a flea market in Brussels and am wondering how to use them in new work of my own.

        I’m working on a post about it right now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sabiscuit says:

        OMG, that’s awesome, Lori. I wish I could find cool stuff like that. I will stay tuned to watch your progress. I do hope it turns out spectacularly.

        Like

      • Lori Ono says:

        I’m pretty excited. So far nothing super interesting (as far as anything I’m doing) but just goofing around until I get home.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

