Chopin, Rain and My Neighbourhood

Walking to Jiyugaoka in the rain. It’s cold but I’m dressed warmly and have waterproof foot ware. I’m a bit bored so I play some music, but what to play on a rainy-misty day? It’s cold and gray and then I see these tulips outside a local flower shop in Okusawa.

 

  
And the answer hits me, this is Chopin weather, Nocturne No.1 in B Flat Minor Op 1-9.

I recently bought the Chopin: The Complete Nocturnes played by Dang Thai Son. 

Chopin is one of my favorites. Mozart can be exhausting and Beethoven can be too dramatic though I like both composers. I soon realized I didn’t own any recordings by Chopin. When I went to iTunes, there were heaps of choices. But what to buy? For interest sake I researched who was the best Chopin interpreter and enjoyed this link: http://www.pianostreet.com/smf/index.php?topic=6430.0

It’s really far beyond my scope of true appreciation and discernment but I enjoyed the discussion and is how I decided to buy recordings by Dang Thai Son.

So back to the tulips and the inspiration to play Chopin. The music was complex, soothing and the perfect balance of contemplation and energy.

I recommend this as your soundtrack for rainy day walking in Tokyo.

This entry was posted in creativity, inspiration, Photography, Tokyo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chopin, Rain and My Neighbourhood

  1. Beth Barany says:

    Lovely! Now I want to check out Chopin. I’m partial to the album SIMPLY BAROQUE II http://www.amazon.com/Yo-Yo-Ma-Baroque-Boccherini-Koopman/dp/B00004W5A9. Bach and Boccherini. I listen on repeat while I edit my novels.

    Like

    • Lori Ono says:

      I really like the Preludes the best. I think you will like it. I also like Bach. Did you know that Nina Simone trained as a classical pianist specializing in Bach? You can hear it when she does “Love Me or Leave Me.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

