Inspired by Dr. Suess and Drawing Lab- My Interpretation of a Suessian Landscape

Been a weird kinda day. Cold and rainy and projects stopping and starting.

Did some writing and then decided to take a break by doing an exercise with Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists by Carla Sonheim. I used “Lab 23: Your Inner Dr. Suess.” I like this book a lot. It has lots of great exercises that are fun and easy to follow. The book is well laid-out. I picked it up at a museum gift-shop on a whim. Yay for whims that work!

I didn’t have any Dr. Suess books on hand so I went with memory and ended up with this:

Inspired by Dr. Suess. My interpretation of a Suessian landscape.

Inspired by Dr. Suess. My interpretation of a Suessian landscape.

It’s a good beginning for a larger project maybe. I originally drew more mushrooms but they ended up looking a little too… anatomically correct so I erased them.

Media: Pilot Frixion Erasable Pen 0.5 mm (red) on paper
Digitaization: iPhone6plus
Text: Amatic added with Photoshop.

This entry was posted in art, drawing, inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired by Dr. Suess and Drawing Lab- My Interpretation of a Suessian Landscape

  1. trentpmcd says:

    I like your Dr. Suess inspired landscape. Looks like a cool book, something i may need to pick up to keep me inspired in drawing.

    Like

    • Lori Ono says:

      Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists is a great book. It can help you try out a lot of new techniques and styles and give you pretty good results.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

