Introducing Mildred Trevor-Thornes

In my last post I wrote about casting Shiitake Sensei   for the serialized story “The Great Mushroom Detective: The Case of the Golden Mushroom” in my zine MaiNichi Mushroom. I’d done a quick sketch of a hedgehog but it didn’t fit Shiitake Sensei. I liked my hedgehog drawing enough that I decided to rewrite the story to include the hedgehog.

I held a character naming contest on my Facebook Page.

I had some great suggestions and I had a tough time choosing. Check out the suggestions below:

Sir Lloyd Picklymaster
Loro
Horatio Stickleback/Sticklebottom
Gunter von Shpeiny
Dr. Klaus Pricklestein
Spike Nerfler
Norman Spikes
Trevor Prickles
Neville Needlebottom
Ivan Thornback aka Ivan the Stabber
Kevin Stabbottom
Myrtle Thornback
Mildred Thornes
Finkle Pricklystein
Prickler Finkelstein
Todd Finklemeister
Hedge Mastermind
Hedge Hoch
Porky Pinebottom
Prickly Pinebottom
Nichi Iggymeister.
Mortimer

Two names caught my attention. The first was Trevor. Trevor is such an unassuming name for a villain. I love that kind of thinking! So I thought it would be Trevor. But once someone suggested Mildred or Myrtle if the hedgehog was a girl. I realised I wanted more female characters. So I mixed them together and came up with a international British hedgehog criminal mastermind.

I present to you

greatmushroomdetective-mildred-trevor-thornes-loriono-hedgehog

 

Big thanks to everyone who participated and especially to Dolly Tartan who came up with both Trevor and Mildred Thornes.

I will do another sketch of Mildred and send it Dolly’s way.

This entry was posted in art, Comics, creativity, drawing, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

