Pop-Up Practice

Thinking of various books to make this summer and I’ve always been interested in making a pop-up book.

I like the challenge of the pop-up and because I didn’t know anything about it I bought a book. There’s a lot of geometry involved which is fine, but I’m finding that just folding the paper in a kind of Tim Gunn make-it-work fashion is getting better results for me.
This is my first test page. Because a pop-up is all about the motion I made it into a small video. Which gave me another challenge. I wanted music but didn’t want to use copyrighted stuff or search for free music. So another test and trial– using GarageBand to make a mini soundtrack. I spent more time trying to figure out how to use the app, but when all is said and done, I think it’s not a bad effort for being all made on my phone.

Without further ado, Octopus Pop-Up:

This entry was posted in art, bookmaking, mixed media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

