O-Tsukimi (Moonviewing) Report Part 3

There’s always a balance between what you imagine you are going to shoot and what you actually have to work with. I imagined this:

When I got there I found that the castle’s lightning rods were under construction. The low-lying clouds didn’t help either. By the time the moon emerged from the clouds, I lost out on the optical illusion of size created when the moon crests the horizon.But still, ya gotta test it just in case.
Tateyama Castle in Chiba with full moon behind it.
I think if I’d had a higher powered lens and more scouting time to find a distant hill or rooftop, I could have gotten something closer to my imagination. But that didn’t solve the pesky scaffolding situation. So I decided to try in bits and pieces rather than the whole facade.

But I like a lot of the photos I did. I liked a lot of my iPhone photos, too. Sometimes a bit better! That’s kind of annoying. But at the same time, the photos have a lot of noise.

shot with iPhone6plus

Shot with iPhone6 plus

lesncomparison-300-400-extendI was really glad to have a chance to test the Canon 100-400mm US ISM II against my 70-300 lens. I added the 1.4x extended to the 100-400 mm to compare as well. Here are the uncropped but layered frames to compare how much moon fills the frame. Some of the difference in the position is moonrise and some is my tripod moving during lens changes.

 

Sadly the eclipse creating the blood moon was not visible in my part of the world so I decided to pack it all up and leave around 9 P.M. My husband convinced me to go to a sushi shop. So hard to convince me.
sashimi-japanesefood-lori-onoThe actual full moon was September 28 and I went to Marukobashi over the Tamagawa in Tokyo to try again. If you have time, check out Part 1 and Part 2 of O-Tsukimi photoshoot.

This entry was posted in camera gear, Canon 5D Mark III, Japan, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O-Tsukimi (Moonviewing) Report Part 3

  1. Ruri says:

    I like your little illustration at the top on how you envisioned the photo shoot. hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

